Dear Jericho,
One of the fun things that happened (i'm being sarcastic here) during your 2nd month of life was your 2 month shots. You did pretty good, but you still cried. I don't think i've heard of a baby getting shots and NOT crying. I'm sure you understand why I didn't get pictures of this eventful day of your life, but I'm confident you can paint a picture in your mind of yourself as a baby and Mommy holding you trying to console you in the doctor's office. One of the things Mommy wasn't prepared for this month was your apparent desire to make her worry daily by deciding it was too cool to poop. Today is a Saturday and you stopped pooping over a week ago on Thursday. So we're going on your 10th day (today is the 9th) of your "Poop Strike". When we were at the doctor, we told her about this and discussed it again. I had called them a couple days before hand after you hadn't pooped for a few days. I was already worried at that point. She told us to wait it out, and as long as you were happy and didn't seem uncomfortable not to worry. You would think Mommy would listen to the doctor when she said not to worry... but I'm worried. Daddy is fine with it, and isn't worried because he said if there was something to worry about the doctor wouldn't have told us not to worry. Its a Mommy's job to worry I guess.. So Worry I will.
So, to add to your list of "1sts" this month.. lets see you've had your first cold, your first round of booster shots and guess what.. YOUR FIRST JUICE DRINKS! This is because Mommy and Daddy are trying like MAD to get you to poop. (Side Note, one day I am going to show this post to your girlfriends so that they will know that you didn't poop when you were 10-11 weeks old *kidding*) I even stuck a (gasp) thermometer in your butt to try to get things to come out. That actually worked once. However, one of the things the doctor suggested was that we give you Juice. So far, we've tried Apple Juice, Pear Juice and today I tried Apple/Prune juice. That was about 3 hours ago and still nothing.. Although you are asleep right now so I will just be happy with that.
I wasn't and still am not thrilled to have to give you juice. I really didn't want you to start getting foods and juices until you were 6 months. But with your reflux (have I posted about that yet?) and your "poop strike" you've been given baby rice cereal, infant juice drinks, and infants Tylenol all in your first 11 weeks of life.
At the last doctor's appointment, the doctor started talking to us about giving you foods (she mentioned we could start at 4 months.. eh.. we will see) and also mentioned for us to get the Tylenol for when you start teething which apparently should be coming in the next few months.
I'm not excited about any of those benchmarks. I thought I would have more time before I would need to start worrying about baby food and teething rings. I'm seeing you grow up quick before my eyes and as excited as I am to see you roll over and get your teeth in. I'm just not ready for you to start doing those things yet.
No comments:
Post a Comment